Daniel GOURISSE, Founder of the T.I.M.E. Association.

Dear All,

Please find below a message from Hervé BIAUSSER, President of CentraleSupélec, regarding the death of Daniel GOURISSE, former Director of Ėcole Centrale Paris and considered as the Founder of the T.I.M.E. Association.

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

It is with great sorrow that I have to announce the death of Daniel GOURISSE this summer, on July 7th 2016.

Daniel was the President of Ecole Centrale Paris during 25 years from 1978 to 2003 and I had the great honour to succeed him in 2003.

After graduating from Ecole Centrale Paris in 1962, he spent his professional life developing nuclear energy at the French Comissariat for Atomic Energy (CEA) and working with dedication for Higher Education at Centrale Paris.

During his presidency, Centrale Paris was greatly developed, especially in its international scope. In particular, he was at the origin of T.I.M.E. in 1988 with the idea to take advantage of the European diversity in Engineering Education. With the help of Daniel GRIMM and Bernard MARIN, he took the initiative to gather 16 European Higher Education Institutions at Centrale Paris to launch the network* and the concept of Double Degrees.

Nearly 30 years later, T.I.M.E. is still in operation, has been expanded to 53 institutions including non-European ones, and constitutes one of the best peer groups in Engineering Education.

With my great regret and my warmest regards to all.

Hervé BIAUSSER – President, CentraleSupélec

Paris, France – July 2016

*The founding meeting of T.I.M.E. took place in Châtenay-Malabry on 13 October 1988 by invitation of Ecole Centrale Paris with Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Ethniko Metsovio Polytechnio Athina, F-A Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Instituto Superior Tecnico Lisboa, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan, Politecnico di Milano, Politecnico di Torino, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen, Technische Universität München, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (ETSII), Universidad Pontificia Comillas (ICAI), Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (ETSEIB), Universität Stuttgart and Université Libre de Bruxelles.