University of Queensland


Associate member
Total number of students:
Year of creation:
Website address:
T.I.M.E. Coordinator:
Prof. Aleksandar RAKIC
Head of Institution:
Prof. Peter HØJ
The University of Queensland (UQ) is one of Australia’s premier learning and research institutions. It is the largest university in Queensland and has produced more than 200,000 graduates since opening in 1911. Its graduates have become leaders in all areas of society and industry. UQ is one of the three Australian members of the global Universitas 21 alliance. This group aims to enhance the quality of university outcomes through international benchmarking. UQ is a founding member of the national Group of Eight (Go8) – a coalition of leading Australian universities. Collectively, Go8 members enrol more than half of all higher degree by research students, have nurtured every Nobel Prize winner educated at an Australian university. The Australian Research Council has assessed 91 per cent of research undertaken at Go8 universities as world standard or above. UQ is a pacesetter in discovery and translational research across a broad spectrum of disciplines, ranging from bioscience and nanotechnology to mining, engineering, social science and humanities. Its eight internationally significant research institutes are drawcards for an ever-expanding community of scientists, researchers and commercialisation experts. UQ is noted for supporting early- and mid-career researchers. In 2012, UQ graduated its 10,000th PhD. UQ currently has 4593 Research Higher Degree students, including 4022 PhD students. In 2011, 553 Research Higher Degrees were awarded. UQ offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs informed by the latest research and delivered in state-of-the-art learning spaces. Its teachers have won more Australian Awards for University Teaching than any other Australian university. Today, UQ has 46,826 students across its four main campuses in southeast Queensland: St Lucia, Ipswich, Gatton and Herston. Staff and students from more than 134 nations are valued in its multicultural community, which celebrates excellence in all aspects of scholarship.